max HP on stock internals?

All boost related things here. Turbos, SuperChargers, FMUs, Megasquirt, et al.
jp 84
E30 Guy
AntiSpam: No

max HP on stock internals?

Postby jp 84 » Wed Oct 03, 2012 3:11 am

want to know what the stock internals can hold up to and what the weak points are. the goal of my build would to be to push no more than 10psi. would the stock internals hold up to that? keeping in mind that it is a budget build.
Nsquared97
I <3 E30's

Re: max HP on stock internals?

Postby Nsquared97 » Wed Oct 03, 2012 7:58 am

Your talking with an M20, correct? Pretty sure 10 psi is easily do-able on stock internals, but I'll let others chime in as I'm not a FI expert by any means.
Yoshi
Site Admin

Postby Yoshi » Wed Oct 03, 2012 11:06 am

I did 12psi on my first M20 build. I've seen them take 15psi reliably. I think past that you start pushing the limits. 10psi should be fine. would be about 250whp and some change. (completely random estimation mind you)
M20_fever
Größter Vorsitzender

Postby M20_fever » Wed Oct 03, 2012 1:11 pm

Dan Pinder was running 21psi on a bone stock 200k+ m20 making something like 420whp for quite a while with no problems. I'm not saying that's a good idea for a dd, but it shows how stout these engines are. I would be totally comfortable running 10-12psi on a dd, WITH A GOOD TUNE. You can have a fully forged $5k engineering and blow it up quick with a poor tune. So I guess my point is, there is no such thing as a "budget" turbo running more than around 5psi since after that you need a stand alone ecu to properly tune for the power your wanting.
Midwestern Councel C Prepared class champion 2012
North Suburban Sports Car Club C Prepared class champion 2012
HSAX Instructor

GET YOUR E3P GEAR HERE: http://www.cafepress.com/e3pgearshop
blasphemy101
I <3 E30's

Postby blasphemy101 » Wed Oct 03, 2012 3:08 pm