DIY Revshift-style adapter?

All boost related things here. Turbos, SuperChargers, FMUs, Megasquirt, et al.
blasphemy101
I <3 E30's
AntiSpam: No

DIY Revshift-style adapter?

Postby blasphemy101 » Wed Oct 24, 2012 5:38 pm

Well, 666 Fab is long gone. Revshift apparently doesn't do M20 Fab anymore (everything has been "out of stock" forever), and apparently the OBX adapters don't fit. I have ZERO welding experience (I can solder, though lol), but I just picked up a nice beginner wire feed that can be converted to full-on MIG once I get some experience.

At some point in the future, I'll probably take a crack at making an adapter. I've found plenty of information on general welding tips, tricks, and techniques - weld angles, different joints, patterns, wire selection, etc. but very little regarding the fabrication aspect that will be required. I know I should (and intend to) focus on the basics, but I'm concerned when it comes time, I'll be able to sufficiently lay a bead, but I have no idea about things like merge collectors, or even making connections between tubing for things like wastegates.

Has anyone here tackled anything like this? Are their any resources for the kind of information I've yet to find? Classes, even at the beginner level are expensive! I'm not so concerned with how difficult it will be, as my e30 project is intended to be as DIY as possible. I'm trying to learn as much as I can from all aspects of the build. "Those who can do; those who can't should learn" and all that...

[EDIT] Once exams are through next week, I'll start my build thread. I intend for it to include my welding progress, just to show anyone who is curious what they're getting in to and how they can avoid my inevitable mistakes.
Dontrusthise30
I <3 E30's

Re: DIY Revshift-style adapter?

Postby Dontrusthise30 » Wed Oct 24, 2012 5:50 pm

blasphemy101
I <3 E30's

Postby blasphemy101 » Wed Oct 24, 2012 6:09 pm