need standalone

All boost related things here. Turbos, SuperChargers, FMUs, Megasquirt, et al.
User avatar
joecrotch
I <3 E30's
Posts: 746
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 10:34 am
Location: Espanola N.M.

need standalone

Postby joecrotch » Fri Feb 27, 2009 10:45 am

Okay so I have come to a conclusion that I am a complete idiot when it comes to Megasquirt. So I am in the process of looking at standalone's that can be tuned by performance shops and EASILY installed by me.


here is the things I will need to take into consideration.

Price/ best bang for my buck
tunability/ does it give me the ability to tune myself if i have to?
ease of installation/ can I install myself or will I have another ecu sitting in my computer room cuz I cant figure it out


basicly I want a easy cheap ecu thats not so diy as megasquirt. i know your a MS god there yoshi but I just dont get it. I loaded the ini file on mine yesterday and now I am just stuck thats it I got a 200 dollar paper weight.


Discuss
Image
The Free A Yoshi Foundation. Ask how you can make a difference!
User avatar
Yoshi
Site Admin
Posts: 9093
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 7:47 pm
AntiSpam: No
Location: North VA
Contact:

Re: need standalone

Postby Yoshi » Fri Feb 27, 2009 2:14 pm

I should have read this before your other post about FMUs lol.

Stand alones are roughly the same installation wise. MS is different because you make your own. Luckily a few guys make adapters for the stock wiring but I prefer making my own. Other than that, its all hook up and go kinda stuff. People can go back and forth on which one is best but by far MS is the CHEAPEST solution. You can get one in your car and running well prebuilt for you for around $500 or less with a cheap wide band.

With that said, No stand alone is easy to install for a first timer. But luckily, you have us to help you out. Check out my MS for dummies sticky and you'll figure it out.
Image
Status: HG repair. 488wtq though!
E30Kaos
E30 Guy
Posts: 24
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:53 pm

Re: need standalone

Postby E30Kaos » Fri Feb 27, 2009 3:31 pm

check my build thread Joe, i build 100% plug and play megasquirts for cheap
User avatar
joecrotch
I <3 E30's
Posts: 746
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 10:34 am
Location: Espanola N.M.

Re: need standalone

Postby joecrotch » Sat Feb 28, 2009 3:15 am

I guess my problem guys is I bought a MSI v2.2 from A guy at www.homemadeturbo.c o m and he said there was something wrong with it got, got it cheap and i thought I could fix it being that I thought I was good with electronics(wrong!). anyway now I have this ms board in my computer room taking up desk space and I cant figure shit out. So I guess I kinda made myself a little scared of it now. So if i buy a plug n play set up the only thing I am scared of is tuning. I have a wide band LM1 and easy access to electronics parts if i need.

I went to a local speed shop a while back and when I talked to their tuner about my set up he freaked when I said I was gonna run MS he told me I wold be on my own that no one around would help me tune, So I guess that scared me a little. but I know he was just trying to sell me the F.A.S.T. system that they are sponsored by. anyway I guess I just have to trust that my fellow E30 enthusiasts will be there for me. I wish there was more of a MS or e30 croud here in the southwest. lol
Image
The Free A Yoshi Foundation. Ask how you can make a difference!
bottlecape30
n00b
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 2:47 am

Re: need standalone

Postby bottlecape30 » Sat Feb 28, 2009 5:02 am

Before you plug that MS into your car make sure you have a flyback board installed. The low impedance injectors on the ETA will fry the board.

Get a sim (prebuilt) from DIYautotune.com that way you can try to figure out what is wrong with your unit.

Starting out i had problems with my firmware. fallow this link to get your computer linked to the MS.
http://www.diyautotune.com/faq/troubles ... m#ms1flash

after that you should be on your way.

Keep in mind last year when i started this i had no idea what any of this above ment. Keep with it you will figure it out.
User avatar
joecrotch
I <3 E30's
Posts: 746
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 10:34 am
Location: Espanola N.M.

Re: need standalone

Postby joecrotch » Sat Feb 28, 2009 6:05 am

get this when I loaded the firmware all went well till I sent the ini/s19 file when it was done instead of it just bringing the prompt back up it looked like this


boot>p waiting...
what?
boot>
Image
The Free A Yoshi Foundation. Ask how you can make a difference!
inkk
I <3 E30's
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 5:56 am
AntiSpam: No

Re: need standalone

Postby inkk » Sat May 16, 2009 11:31 am

Next time buy Australian. For 500usd you could have a pretty decent ecu.
User avatar
M20_fever
Größter Vorsitzender
Posts: 11029
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 1:28 pm
AntiSpam: No
Location: Northern IL

Re: need standalone

Postby M20_fever » Sat May 16, 2009 6:58 pm

what Australian ECU do you speak of?
Image
Midwestern Councel C Prepared class champion 2012
North Suburban Sports Car Club C Prepared class champion 2012
HSAX Instructor

GET YOUR E3P GEAR HERE: http://www.cafepress.com/e3pgearshop
inkk
I <3 E30's
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 5:56 am
AntiSpam: No

Re: need standalone

Postby inkk » Sun May 17, 2009 12:38 am

Oohh, i just check the exchange rate it has crept up a bit but still looky here...

http://shop.ebay.com.au/microtech?_from=R40&_trksid=m38&_nkw=microtech&_naf=1

http://shop.ebay.com.au/?_from=R40&_trksid=m38&_nkw=haltech

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/WOLF-3D-efi-computer-V4-40_W0QQitemZ280343564203QQcmdZViewItemQQptZAU_Car_Parts_Accessories?hash=item280343564203&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=66%3A2|65%3A1|39%3A1|240%3A1318|301%3A1|293%3A1|294%3A50

For a few dollars more...

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/MoTeC-M8-ECU-and-Capacitor-Discharge-Ignition_W0QQitemZ150344217211QQcmdZViewItemQQptZAU_Car_Parts_Accessories?hash=item150344217211&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=66%3A2|65%3A1|39%3A1|240%3A1318|301%3A1|293%3A1|294%3A50

Freight shouldn't be too much either. All the above are half decent standalones, a lot of our 7sec drag cars run Microtechs without any problems and are heaps easy to work with, there is also a great customer support base for them. With these options why even bother with the hassle of MS in my opinion.
User avatar
M20_fever
Größter Vorsitzender
Posts: 11029
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 1:28 pm
AntiSpam: No
Location: Northern IL

Re: need standalone

Postby M20_fever » Sun May 17, 2009 1:29 pm

seems like all those will need more work to function with the old technology of the M20 though, correct me if I'm wrong.
Image
Midwestern Councel C Prepared class champion 2012
North Suburban Sports Car Club C Prepared class champion 2012
HSAX Instructor

GET YOUR E3P GEAR HERE: http://www.cafepress.com/e3pgearshop
User avatar
Tchao
E30 Guy
Posts: 62
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 8:11 am
AntiSpam: No

Re: need standalone

Postby Tchao » Sun May 17, 2009 4:45 pm

No it does not require more work. The M20 is a very good platform to get your hands wet in.

If you want a trouble-ish free standalone that most tuners can work with, I would go AEM. They have pretty neat features of other higher end ECU for half the price.

VEMS is also an option but it still uses megatune so IDK if you want to avoid that or not.

A good ECU wont be cheap compared to MS. Be prepared to pay if you want to play.
E30 M50nv
User avatar
M20_fever
Größter Vorsitzender
Posts: 11029
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 1:28 pm
AntiSpam: No
Location: Northern IL

Re: need standalone

Postby M20_fever » Mon May 18, 2009 3:50 am

meh, from what little I understand I should be ok with MS.
Image
Midwestern Councel C Prepared class champion 2012
North Suburban Sports Car Club C Prepared class champion 2012
HSAX Instructor

GET YOUR E3P GEAR HERE: http://www.cafepress.com/e3pgearshop
inkk
I <3 E30's
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2009 5:56 am
AntiSpam: No

Re: need standalone

Postby inkk » Tue May 19, 2009 8:05 am

Hey Tchao, isn't the AEM a Wolf3d just different packaging for the U.S?

MS when you got 4k in your engine??
Wait and save a little i reckon.
MS will work though.
User avatar
M20_fever
Größter Vorsitzender
Posts: 11029
Joined: Fri Feb 27, 2009 1:28 pm
AntiSpam: No
Location: Northern IL

Re: need standalone

Postby M20_fever » Tue May 19, 2009 6:07 pm

MS is just what I have read the most about, and there seems to be tons of info/support readily available. I guess I can look into other ECUs but I really would have no idea what to look for. MS can handle 30psi and eventually a progressive nitrous kit, right? :)
Image
Midwestern Councel C Prepared class champion 2012
North Suburban Sports Car Club C Prepared class champion 2012
HSAX Instructor

GET YOUR E3P GEAR HERE: http://www.cafepress.com/e3pgearshop
User avatar
Yoshi
Site Admin
Posts: 9093
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2009 7:47 pm
AntiSpam: No
Location: North VA
Contact:

Re: need standalone

Postby Yoshi » Tue May 19, 2009 6:14 pm

MS can handle 21psi max to start. You can give it a 4 bar map sensor though. I dunno about progressive nos.
Image
Status: HG repair. 488wtq though!

Return to “Forced Induction”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest