1989 325ix Off Idle Engine Hesitation - Video Included

M20/M30/M50/Whatever! All engine related stuff here.
c10seth
n00b
AntiSpam: No

1989 325ix Off Idle Engine Hesitation - Video Included

Postby c10seth » Wed Dec 11, 2013 2:00 pm

Hello,

I'm new to the BMW world, so I'm learning all the ins and outs of the e30s. I've dabbled in a lot of stuff that includes vintage trucks, 4WD trucks, Hondas, Subies, and sport bikes.

Here's my issue for you seasoned BMW enthusiasts: I have a little hesitation or sputter that happens when I tip into the gas from idle. I have changed the cap/rotor, plugs, wires, oil & filter, and air filter for the engine thus far.

YouTube Link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NPmmh8D4DqM

I've also rebuilt the front axles, have new front lower control arms, and am replacing a rusty front fender. So, lots going on! -grin-

Kindest Regards,

c10seth
M20_fever
Größter Vorsitzender

Re: 1989 325ix Off Idle Engine Hesitation - Video Included

Postby M20_fever » Wed Dec 11, 2013 2:57 pm

Welcome to e3p! Clean car you got there. The hesitation you hear is totally normal for an m20, not much you can do about it. They put pretty heavy flywheels on these cars, so throttle response off idle isn't great. Even with my lightened flywheel and no accessories or fan my M20 does the same thing. You can adjust the idle up a tiny bit to improve response, but if you do you need to check/adjust your tps to make sure your still hitting the idle circuit or it will run like crap. Some people may recommended adjusting your afm, don't.

As for the squealing, have you tried turning on the AC to see if it goes away? Sounds like a failing compressor clutch to me.

Your fuel pump is louder than any of my e30s have been. You can check fuel pressure at the rail to make sure its up to snuff. If it doesn't cause any drivability issues I would leave it be.
Midwestern Councel C Prepared class champion 2012
North Suburban Sports Car Club C Prepared class champion 2012