How-to: CV Axle Boot Repair (IX fronts shown)

From the tranny down to wheel bearings.
ten2doyle102
I <3 E30's

How-to: CV Axle Boot Repair (IX fronts shown)

Postby ten2doyle102 » Thu Jun 04, 2009 3:23 am

Well, I noticed a while back that my axle boots were torn so this week I finally bit the bullet and did them. I have never done this before so my technique maybe be flawed so if you notice something that incorrect, let me know! :) You'll also notice that these are the front CV axles on my car since I have a IX but I think that the rears are pretty close to the same thing so this should give you a idea of what to expect.

Torn Axle boot = FAIL!

Well lets get started here! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Here's the list of what I used to get it done:

Needle nose pliers
(2) Flat screwdriver (or a circlip pliers if you have one)
Rubber mallet
Pin drift
22mm box end wrench (for the front control arm nut, Applies only to the IX)
Pry bar
30mm socket
Impact gun
Boot kit
New wheel nut locking ring
Hammer
Latex Gloves
ALOT of patience!

Since this is for the front on an IX, the rear axle removal will be a little more in depth. Reference Yoshi Wheel Bearing how to for getting the axle out.

viewtopic.php?f=22&t=623

Back to the IX

We start by obviously removing the wheel and placing it on a jackstand

Now, pry out the old axle retainer with a small flat screwdriver or a pliers. It'll take a bit, but it will come off. Once that's off, use a 30mm socket and a impact (long breaker bar will work too.) If it doesn't break loose, it maybe necessary to leave the car on the ground to get it off. Mine came off with pretty quick.