Looking for a specific series of articles/blogs...

If you can't find a spot for it, Fine! do it here.
blasphemy101
I <3 E30's
AntiSpam: No

Looking for a specific series of articles/blogs...

Postby blasphemy101 » Fri Sep 26, 2014 4:58 pm

In all of the car research I've done, E30-related and not, I've noticed there seems to be a pretty big jump from the typical enthusiast-level knowledge found on forums and full blown SAE-grade reports and technical papers (which most of us don't have access to). It seems like there's very little middle-ground for technically-minded enthusiasts who're seeking more in-depth knowledge about automotive topics. Does anyone know about any series or blogs that attempt to cross that divide between "turbos make your car go faster" and a full blown "thermodynamic analysis of a system with turbines/compressors"?

As an engineering student, I feel I have a constantly growing set of skills that allows me to get closer and closer to being able to actually understand some of those highly technical documents, but I can look back to a point, just a couple of years ago, and remember how frustrating it was when I had none of those capabilities. I'm thinking about writing up a series of blogs that roughly follows some of my course work, but written out in layman's terms so that someone who doesn't necessarily want an engineering degree can get a stronger knowledge base for how systems on their car works. I'm sure it would help me get a better understanding of the concepts we're working through in class, and others might find it helpful, too.

I used to write a lot for school, but since I've been well into my engineering course work, that's almost completely tapered off. Writing something like this would probably help me stop writing like an engineer and more like a human again...