Blasphemy101's E30 Build Thread

Post a build of your car or project HERE
blasphemy101
I <3 E30's
AntiSpam: No

Blasphemy101's E30 Build Thread

Postby blasphemy101 » Wed Nov 21, 2012 6:15 am

I figure it’s about time for a proper introduction. My name is James, and I’m a Mechanical Engineering student located in Tampa. As with many introductions, I think I should start with a little bit of history.

In 1989, my dad was on the look-out for a clean E30. He had previously owned E30s and E21s and decided it was time to find a new, clean example. He was able to locate a 1987 325iS, and it was just what he was looking for. He gently drove and diligently maintained the car until 2005. He had managed to get his hands on an E30 M3 around that time, and began switching between the cars until finally parking the 325iS.

Two years later (2008), I was hungering for my first car. As with many new drivers, the receiving of my driver’s license had sparked off my automotive obsession. Assuming I was going to end up driving the 325iS, I began my research. I quickly learned about the general sets of modifications typically made by E30 enthusiasts. Like many teenage boys looking to modify their new (to them) sets of wheels, turbocharging piqued my interest. I attempted to learn as much as I could and became confident in my knowledge of the tried-and-true setups that would help guide me on my way to the greatness that is forced induction. For better or worse – I probably would have ruined the car in my efforts or crashed it, had I actually managed to assemble a boosted E30 – I ended up driving a different car for my first few years. It wasn’t until2011 that I was able to finally get my hands on the 325iS, and that’s where this story really begins.